Major League Rugby is back Spring 2021!


Major League Rugby Releases 2021 Season Launch, Championship Date
DALLAS (September 22, 2020) --- In advance of its fourth season, Major League Rugby today
announced its 2021 season will start with matches on March 20, 2021 and will continue for 18
weeks of regular season action. Thirteen teams spread across North America will be competing
to make the MLR Playoffs. At the conclusion of the regular season the MLR playoffs will be
contested over two weeks of Eastern and Western Conference finals with the Championship
Final to be held August 1.
“We are looking forward to Major League Rugby’s fourth season being a powerful return for
professional rugby in North America,” said MLR Commissioner George Killebrew. “We’re
confident that this season is going to be groundbreaking for MLR with the expansion to 13
teams and plans to ramp up the fan experience like never before. March 20 is going to be a
great day when Major League Rugby returns.”
Like many major professional sports around the globe, due to the pandemic MLR adjusted its
2020 season schedule and turned its attention to ensuring the league would rebound with a
strong showing in 2021. League and team officials have been diligently working to build strong
rosters and enhance the fan experience for the upcoming season. Matches will be televised on
CBS Sports Network and Fox Sports 2 among other national and local market platforms. The
MLR Championship will be broadcast on CBS Television Network on Sunday, August 1.
In advance of the regular season, training camps for all MLR teams will begin February 15.
There will be a variety of pre-season activities in each market as well as national media day
where each team will provide standout players for national and international media availability.